The day my life changed..

rightpath

Four years ago I joined the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. On July 8th, 2012, I willingly walked into a church building and hid in the back of the chapel. I stared at everyone around me and instantly felt out-of-place. There were many people getting up and sharing their story, and I thought “This is crazy. Who are they to tell me how to live my life? How is this church going to help me, when they don’t have one person leading the congregation?”

 

I sat at the back of the chapel and thought “this isn’t the church for me”. While lost in thought, the bishopric, missionaries, and the Relief Society President walked over to me and proceeded to ask me questions. I stared at them with the deer in headlights look. The missionaries saw my reaction and walked with me to the foyer. At this point I thought church was over, it wasn’t… I still had 2 hours left :O

 

As we walked to Sunday school, I wondered why I stayed. I knew there was no way I would fit in with these ‘perfect people”. I zoned out during Sunday school, but in Relief Society (RS) I watched the women interact. The room was small so it wasn’t that hard to do. I sat in the back of the room, looking for a quick escape route when two women walked up and sat next to me (on my right). An older woman sat to my left. I don’t remember the lesson that was taught that day. What I do remember is the women bickering and the older woman complaining about the way the lesson was taught. What amazed me was at the end of the lesson the women on my right agreed to meet for dinner. The older woman hugged the teacher and told her that she loved her lesson. It turned out that the women on my right were best friends and neighbors, and the woman on my right is the teacher’s mother in-law.  As I slipped out the back I remember thinking “Well that was different”.

 

Something stayed with me because I agreed to meet with the missionaries and 19 days later I was baptized. It has been one of the most difficult things I’ve ever done or experienced. I wouldn’t change it nor am I willing to give it up..

Join me while I figure out this crazy life that Heavenly Father has planned for me

 

❤ Kiwibean

Leave a Reply

